Bronchitis-ville

I went to the doctor yesterday to find out why my summer cold had been lasting for two weeks. In fact, it was getting worse. Especially bad was that I was having trouble sleeping at night and catching my breath.

Well the verdict is in — I have bronchitis!!! I never saw that coming. It never entered my mind…I was thinking summer cold all the way.

So I’m on antibiotic, cough suppressant and I have a broncho-inhaler to dilate my bronchi. Fun times!

Here’s an excerpt from WebMD that more fully explains my condition (which is only short term…it is NOT chronic):

What Is Bronchitis?

Bronchitis is a respiratory disease in which the mucous membrane in the lungs’ bronchial passages becomes inflamed. As the irritated membrane swells and grows thicker, it narrows or shuts off the tiny airways in the lungs, resulting in coughing spells accompanied by thick phlegm and breathlessness. The disease comes in two forms: acute (lasting less than 6 weeks) and chronic (reoccurring frequently for more than two years). In addition, people with asthma also experience an inflammation of the lining of the bronchial tubes called asthmatic bronchitis.

bronchitis

What Causes It?

Acute bronchitis is generally caused by lung infections; approximately 90% of these infections are viral in origin, 10% bacterial. Chronic bronchitis may be caused by one or several factors. Repeated attacks of acute bronchitis, which weaken and irritate bronchial airways over time, can result in chronic bronchitis.

Leave a Reply

